An Open Letter to All United States Veterans- Thank You ðŸ‡ºðŸ‡¸

“It is the Soldier, not the minister
Who has given us freedom of religion.
It is the Soldier, not the reporter
Who has given us freedom of the press.
It is the Soldier, not the poet
Who has given us freedom of speech.
It is the Soldier, not the campus organizer
Who has given us freedom to protest.
It is the Soldier, not the lawyer
Who has given us the right to a fair trial.
It is the Soldier, not the politician
Who has given us the right to vote.
It is the Soldier who salutes the flag,
Who serves beneath the flag,
And whose coffin is draped by the flag,
Who allows the protester to burn the flag.”

🇺🇸 🇺🇸 🇺🇸 🇺🇸 🇺🇸 🇺🇸 🇺🇸 🇺🇸 🇺🇸 🇺🇸 🇺🇸 🇺🇸 🇺🇸 🇺🇸 🇺🇸 🇺🇸 🇺🇸 🇺🇸 🇺🇸 🇺🇸 🇺🇸 🇺🇸 🇺🇸 🇺🇸 🇺🇸

― Charles M. Province

Dear Veteran,

Thank you to you and all the Veterans who have served or currently serving our great nation.  I may have never met you or have known you were a veteran, but I want you to know that I appreciate you, I support you, and I cannot thank you enough.

You, in my eyes emulate the true meaning of bravery and selflessness.  You deserve much more than just one day to be given thanks, but I hope my gratitude towards you can be felt.

Thank you for being away from your family, so that I can be safe with mine.

Thank you for eating MREs for days at a time, so that I could eat with my family.

Thank you for marching for miles with up to 100 pounds of gear, and for being so selfless and so noble.

Thank you for putting your country before yourself, so that future generations can live and prosper.

Thank you for potentially jeopardizing your mental health, when there is a negative stigma with mental health in the United States.

Thank you for serving even though Congress doesn’t (always) financially support you once you come home.

Thank you for taking the burden of serving off of me.  So that I could continue with school.

Thank you for fighting bravely, even though when you get home you may not have received the recognition and thanks you deserve.

Thank you for answering the Call of Duty, no matter what the cost.

Thank you for potentially writing a check out to the United States of America with the price of your life.

But a very special thank you to the most important veteran in my life, my dad, Retired First Sergeant Paul.

Military man

My handsome father!

Somalia Confict Newspaper

He has bravely served his country for over 20 years.  He served overseas in Operation Desert Storm, Germany, and Somalia.  He has never once bragged about his service, or his accomplishments.  He has always stayed humble, unselfish and noble.  My dad has taught me to stay honorable and stick up for what I believe in…always.

I cannot express just how proud I am of my dad.  He would sacrifice time away from his family to make sure we all are safe. Thank you!

Not all superheros wear capes…. mine wears dog tags.  And you, Veteran are my hero.

Sincerely,

A Thankful Civilian

Veterans Operation Desert Storm

Operation Desert Storm

🇺🇸 🇺🇸 🇺🇸 🇺🇸 🇺🇸 🇺🇸 🇺🇸 🇺🇸 🇺🇸 🇺🇸 🇺🇸 🇺🇸 🇺🇸 🇺🇸 🇺🇸 🇺🇸 🇺🇸 🇺🇸 🇺🇸 🇺🇸 🇺🇸 🇺🇸 🇺🇸 🇺🇸 🇺🇸

signiture

Leave a Reply

